Former Postdocs

David Ackerly's picture David Ackerly
Professor, Integrative Biology
University of California, Berkeley
dackerly@berkeley.edu
Website
William Alverson's picture William Alverson
Data/Lab Manager, Botany
University of Wisconsin–Madison
walverson@wisc.edu
Website
Bruce Baldwin's picture Bruce Baldwin
Professor, Integrative Biology
University of California, Berkeley
Curator of Vascular Plants, Jepson Herbarium
bbaldwin@berkeley.edu
Website
Belinda Chang's picture Belinda Chang
Assistant Professor, Cell and Systems Biology
University of Toronto
belinda.chang@utoronto.ca
Website
Wendy Clement's picture Wendy Clement
Assistant Professor, Biology
The College of New Jersey
clementw@tcnj.edu
Website
Deren Eaton's picture Deren Eaton
Assistant Professor, Department of Ecology, Evolution, and Environmental Biology
Columbia University
de2356@columbia.edu
Website

I am interested in why some clades of organisms contain more species than others, and within this context, I’m particularly interested in the long recognized relationship among flowering plants where families with more specialized pollination mechanisms tend to have more species. To understand this pattern I study how flower evolution affects rates of speciation, and reciprocally, how interactions among co-occurring species, especially within highly diverse clades, affects flower evolution.

Torsten Eriksson's picture Torsten Eriksson
Database Developer, Biodiversity Informatics
Swedish Museum of Natural History
torsten.eriksson@bergianska.se
Margaret Evans's picture Margaret Evans
National Museum of Natural History (Paris, France)
margaret.ekevans@gmail.com
Website
William Ned Friedman's picture William Ned Friedman
Director, Arnold Arboretum
Arnold Professor, Organismic and Evolutionary Biology
Harvard University
ned@oeb.harvard.edu
Website
Katherine Gould Mathews's picture Katherine Gould Mathews
Associate Professor, Biology
Western Carolina University
kmathews@email.wcu.edu
Website
Francis Harrington's picture Francis Harrington
fah1@cornell.edu
David Hibbett's picture David Hibbett
Professor, Biology
Clark University
dhibbett@clarku.edu
Website
Dianella Howarth's picture Dianella Howarth
Assistant Professor, Biological Sciences
St. John’s College of Liberal Arts and Sciences
howarth@stjohns.edu
Website
Larry Hufford's picture Larry Hufford
Professor, School of Biological Sciences
Washington State University
hufford@wsu.edu
Website
Charlotte Jander's picture Charlotte Jander
Harvard University
charlotte.jander@yale.edu

I am interested in the ecology and evolution of mutualisms. Among other things I study mechanisms that promote cooperation and prevent cheating in the mutualism between fig trees and their pollinating wasps.

Andrew Leslie's picture Andrew Leslie
Assistant Professor, Ecology and Evolutionary Biology
Brown University
Andrew_Leslie@brown.edu
I am interested in the relationships between form, function, and morphological evolution. My work focuses on seed plant reproductive structures and integrates data from the paleontological record, experiments in living analogues, and phylogenetic analyses in order to understand how the various functions that reproductive structures perform have driven patterns of morphological change.  In addition, my work also includes several field-based paleobotany projects focusing on fossil floras from eastern North America, New Caledonia, and Mongolia.
Jianhua Li's picture Jianhua Li
Associate Professor, Biology
Hope College
li@hope.edu
Website
Eugenia Lo's picture Eugenia Lo
University of California, Irvine
eylo@uci.edu
Henry Loconte's picture Henry Loconte
Zen Gardens
HenryLoconte@ZenGardens.com
Sarah Mathews's picture Sarah Mathews
Research Scientist, Commonwealth Scientific and Industrial Research Organisation (CSIRO)
Centre for Biodiversity Analysis, Australian National University
Sarah.Mathews@csiro.au
Website
Zack Murrell's picture Zack Murrell
Associate Professor, Biology
Appalachian State University
murrellze@appstate.edu
Website
Matt Ogburn's picture Matt Ogburn
Assistant Professor of Biology, Department of Biology
Southern Utah University
rmogburn@gmail.com

I’m broadly interested in the evolution of plant morphology and function, especially in climatically extreme environments. I take a whole-plant perspective, applying data from ecophysiology, morphology, and niche-modelling approaches to try to understand how evolutionary change is integrated at the level of the organism. I’m particularly interested in the question of why some plant lineages show extensive morphological and ecological lability, while others seem to stick with the tried-and-true. My current project looks at trait evolution and community assembly in high-altitude environments of the Andes mountains.

William Piel's picture William Piel
Assistant Professor, Biology
Yale-NUS College (Singapore)
william.piel@yale-nus.edu.sg
Website
Tao Sang's picture Tao Sang
Professor, The State Key Laboratory of Systematic and Evolutionary Botany
Institute of Botany--Chinese Academy of Sciences
sang@ibcas.ac.cn
Lisa Schultheis's picture Lisa Schultheis
Instructor, Biological and Health Sciences Division
Foothill College
schultheislisa@foothill.edu
Website
David Tank's picture David Tank
Assistant Professor, Forest, Rangeland, and Fire Sciences
University of Idaho
Director, Stillinger Herbarium
dtank@uidaho.edu
Website
Campbell Webb's picture Campbell Webb
Research Associate, Arnold Arboretum (Kalimantan, Borneo)
Harvard University
cwebb@arnarb.harvard.edu
Website
Paul Wilson's picture Paul Wilson
Professor, Biology
California State University, Northridge
paul.wilson@csun.edu
Website
Richard Winkworth's picture Richard Winkworth
Honorary Research Associate, Institute of Fundamental Sciences
Massey University (New Zealand)
rwinkworth@gmail.com
Website
Daming Zhang's picture Daming Zhang
Chinese Academy of Sciences
zhangdm@ns.ibcas.ac.cn
Website