Former Graduate Students

Laurie Abbott's picture Laurie Abbott
Emeritus Associate Professor, Animal and Range Sciences
New Mexico State University
labbott@nmsu.edu
Website
Jeremy Beaulieu's picture Jeremy Beaulieu
Assistant Professor, Biological Sciences
University of Arkansas
jmbeauli@uark.edu
Website
Charles Bell's picture Charles Bell
Associate Professor, Biological Sciences

University of New Orleans
cbell@phylodiversity.net
Website
Sara Carlson's picture Sara Carlson
AAAS Science and Technology Policy Fellow, Bureau of Economic Growth, Education and the Environment (E3)-- Forestry and Biodiversity Office
United States Agency for International Development (USAID)
sara.carlson01@gmail.com
Charles Davis's picture Charles Davis
Professor, Organismic and Evolutionary Biology
Curator of Vascular Plants, Harvard University Herbaria
Harvard University
Director, Harvard University Herbaria
cdavis@oeb.harvard.edu
Website
James Dice's picture James Dice
Reserve Manager, Steele/Burnand Anza-Borrego Desert Research Center
University of California, Irvine
dicej@uci.edu
Erika Edwards's picture Erika Edwards
Professor, Ecology and Evolutionary Biology
Yale University
erika.edwards@yale.edu
Website
Sarah Federman's picture Sarah Federman
sarah.federman@yale.edu
Diane Ferguson's picture Diane Ferguson
Associate Director, Herbarium
Louisiana State University
dfergu1@lsu.edu
Elisabeth Forrestel's picture Elisabeth Forrestel
NSF Postdoctoral Fellow, Department of Viticulture & Enology
University of California, Davis
ejforrestel@ucdavis.edu
R Geeta's picture R Geeta
Professor, Botany
University of Delhi
Associate Professor Emeritus, Ecology and Evolution
SUNY, Stony Brook
rgeeta@botany.du.ac.in
Website
Anne Greenberg's picture Anne Greenberg
Postdoctoral Research Associate, Center for Research on Learning and Teaching
University of Michigan
akgreenb@umich.edu
Sang-Tae Kim's picture Sang-Tae Kim
Research Fellow, Center for Genome Engineering
Institute for Basic Science
sang-tae.kim@tuebingen.mpg.de
Carlo Maley's picture Carlo Maley
Associate Professor, Biodesign Virginia G. Piper Center for Personalized Diagnostics
Arizona State University
maley@asu.edu
Website
James Malusa's picture James Malusa
Research Scientist, School of Natural Resources and Environment
University of Arizona
malusa@email.arizona.edu
Website
Brian Moore's picture Brian Moore
Associate Professor, Evolution and Ecology
University of California, Davis
brianmoore@ucdavis.edu
Website
Rachel Novick's picture Rachel Novick
Director of the Minor in Sustainability, Biological Sciences
University of Notre Dame
rnovick@nd.edu
Website
Brian Park's picture Brian Park
Post-doc, Plant Biology
University of Georgia
brian.park@uga.edu

I am fascinated with the amazing diversity of floral displays across the angiosperms. To this end, I employ an integrative approach spanning developmental genetics, pollination ecology, and phylogenetic biology to gain insights on the proximate and ultimate factors that generate this diversity.

For the last 5 years, I have been conducting experiments in western Massachusetts to study the pollination ecology of the hobblebush, Viburnum lantanoides. Like sunflowers and hydrangeas, hobblebush produce showy inflorescences composed of a central cluster of small, fertile flowers encircled by large, sterile flowers, that as a whole, make the inflorescence look and function like a single flower. Its not clear why hobblebush (or sunflowers and hydrangeas for that matter) do this, so I have been collecting data on insect visitation and fruit set in a population of hobblebush composed of “wild-type” plants with sterile flowers and experimental plants with their sterile flowers removed. I hope results provide insights into the role of natural selection in driving the evolution of sterile flowers in hobblebush.

This work has been a truly collaborative effort, with involvement from several undergraduate students, PhD students, and postdocs. 

For a high-resolution image of Brian, click here.

J Mark Porter's picture J Mark Porter
Associate Professor, Botany
Claremont Graduate University
Rancho Santa Ana Botanic Garden
j.mark.porter@cgu.edu
Website
Richard Ree's picture Richard Ree
Associate Curator of Flowering Plants, The Field Museum
Faculty Associate, Committee on Evolutionary Biology
University of Chicago
rree@fieldmuseum.org
Website
Michael Sanderson's picture Michael Sanderson
Professor, Ecology and Evolutionary Biology
University of Arizona
sanderm@email.arizona.edu
Website
Stephen Smith's picture Stephen Smith
Assistant Professor, Ecology and Evolutionary Biology
University of Michigan, Ann Arbor
eebsmith@umich.edu
Website
Elizabeth Spriggs's picture Elizabeth Spriggs
Putnam Fellow, Arnold Arboretum
Harvard University
espriggs@fas.harvard.edu
George Weiblen's picture George Weiblen
Distinguished McKnight University Professor, Plant and Microbial Biology
Interim Scientific Director, Bell Museum of Natural History
University of Minnesota
gweiblen@umn.edu
Website